Sarah has lived and worked in Wellington’s southern and eastern suburbs most of her life and is passionate about seeing the city becoming “wildly famous” for its sustainability, livability, creativity and inclusion.

First elected as an Eastern Ward/Motukairangi  councillor in 2013, she was appointed as Wellington’s Deputy Mayor in 2019. 

Sarah has an engineering degree and a Masters in Public Health.  In her early career, she worked for NZ Electricity (now Transpower) before retraining as a secondary school teacher. Immediately prior to her election to Council, Sarah was employed as a residential energy advisor and consumer advocate and was widely involved with Wellington community and council groups. 

Sarah has always stood proudly as a Green, and has consistently advocated for better cycling, walking and public transport, warm dry homes, resilient infrastructure, reducing waste to landfill, food security, good community facilities and a strong local economy with fair wages.     

She successfully led the rollout of new cycleways and walkways in the eastern suburbs and other parts of Wellington, taking over this role in 2016 following the criticism and difficulties with the Island Bay cycleway. She also led the early work for the new Waitohi library in Johnsonville and championed initiatives such as the Miramar predator free project, Kilbirnie stormwater upgrades and funding for local community centres. She is deeply concerned by Wellington Airport’s plans to extend the runway and expand its footprint and the potential impact on the eastern suburbs and wider city. New housing done well and enabling the right mix of denser housing, commercial space and recreational and green space through the District Plan will also be a big focus for her.

Sarah plans to stand again for the Eastern Ward Motukairangi in 2022.

Our people

Aaron Hawkins - Dunedin Mayor

Aaron Hawkins is currently serving his first term as Mayor, after two terms as a city councillor. He grew up in and around Invercargill, before mov...
Read More

Marie Laufiso – Dunedin City Council

Te Mana Whenua o tēnei rohe, Tēnā koutou Katoa, Tēnā Koutou Katoa Ko Sāmoa me Tonga ngā wāhi o ōku Tupuna. Ko Fa’amoe, Lū, Tua’i, Faualō, Ivala, La...
Read More

Renee Dingwall - Palmerston North City Councillor

Councillor Renee Dingwall has spent over a decade working in the community and for-purpose sector. She has seen a lot of the complex issues our soc...
Read More

Brent Barrett – Palmerston North City Council

City Councillor Brent Barrett works and votes to help make Palmerston North a future-ready city where everyone thrives.  With a background in envir...
Read More

Jessica Rose - Whau Local Board

Jessica Rose is a current elected member of Whau Board. She was previously elected to the Albert-Eden local board and has been an active community ...
Read More

Laurie Foon – Wellington City Council

Laurie Foon’s been a champion of sustainable business and social responsibility in Wellington city. She was a powerful advocate for new sewage solu...
Read More

Thomas Nash – Greater Wellington Regional Council

Thomas is an elected Councillor for Greater Wellington Regional Council, where he chairs the Climate Committee. In his first term as a councillor T...
Read More