Skip to main content

Te Rōpū Pounamu

Te Rōpū Pounamu is a Māori network within the Green Party Aotearoa New Zealand, established in 2000 after the Ōtaki Summer hui. At a hui at Hirangi Marae in December 2001 we agreed on our overall relationship with the Green Party. We resolved that:

"Acknowledging the Green Party's commitment to honouring te Tiriti o Waitangi Te Roopu Pounamu accepts the responsibility to actively support and advocate for the inclusion of a Māori dimension in all Green Party processes, policies and practices, in the context of a reciprocal relationship of aroha between Te Roopu Pounamu and the wider Green Party."

Metiria Turei and Marama Davidson

Office Holders

Wāhine co-convenor (acting): Dora Langsbury

Tāne co-convenor: Jack McDonald

Representative on Green Party Executive: Tautari Huirama

Representative on Green Party Policy Executive: Marama Davidson

Greens Māori Caucus: Metiria Turei (co-leader). Denise Roche, David Clendon

Kāhui Kaumatua: Olly Ohlsen, Tautari Huirama, Bonnie Savage, David Clendon

Membership Secretary: Rachael Goldsmith

Social media: Rachael Goldsmith, Rochelle Surendran, co-convenors


Tāmaki Makaurau

Marama Davidson, maramd [at] xtra [dot] co [dot] nz

Te Tai Hauāuru

Jack McDonald, jack [dot] mcdonald [at] greens [dot] org [dot] nz

Te Tai Tonga

Dora Langsbury, dora [dot] langsbury [at] greens [dot] org [dot] nz


Manu Caddie, manu [at] ahi [dot] co [dot] nz

Other electorates

Jack McDonald, jack [dot] mcdonald [at] greens [dot] org [dot] nz

^ Back to Top